Noravank (: Նորավանք, literally "new monastery") is a 13th-century monastery, located 122 km from in a narrow gorge made by the Amaghu River, near the town of , . The gorge is known for its tall, sheer, brick-red cliffs, directly across from the monastery. The monastery is best known for its two-storey Surb Astvatsatsin (Holy Mother of God) church, which grants access to the second floor by way of a narrow stone-made staircase jutting out from the face of building.
The monastery is sometimes called Noravank at Amaghu, with Amaghu being the name of a small and nowadays abandoned village above the canyon, in order to distinguish it from , near . In the 13th–14th centuries the monastery became a residence of 's bishops and, consequently, a major religious and, later, cultural center of Armenia closely connected with many of the local seats of learning, especially with Gladzor's famed university and library.
Noravank was founded in 1205 by Bishop Hovhannes, a former abbot of near the present-day city of Kapan in . The monastic complex includes the church of S. Karapet, S. Grigor chapel with a vaulted hall, and the church of S. Astvatsatsin (Holy Mother of God). Ruins of various civil buildings and are found both inside and outside of the compound walls. Noravank was the residence of the princes. The architect Siranes and the miniature painter and sculptor worked here in the latter part of the thirteenth and early fourteenth century.
The complex has several surviving . The most intricate of them all is a 1308 khachkar by Momik. Standing out against the carved background are a large cross over a shield-shaped rosette and salient eight-pointed stars vertically arranged on its sides. The top of the khachkar shows a scene framed in cinquefoil arches symbolizing a pergola as suggested by the background ornament of flowers, fruit and vine leaves.